The Book That Will Change Your Life

Have you ever read a book that changed your perspective on life? I never had, until I read MONEY by MAKER.

I was going to post about the movie I watched last night but I just read this post on Ripley Patton’s LJ, and now I feel compelled to talk about this book that changed my life.

In my late-twenties I had a few hang-ups left over from a Christian upbringing. Growing up, I wasn’t made to go to church or pray or anything, but God was there, more often than not, and in my teens I was very much “encouraged” to attend an Elim Pentecostal church every Sunday with my mum. It used to bore me to tears. I also saw a lot of hypocrisy among the devout. By my mid- to late-twenties I’d lost my faith but had nothing to replace it with. Then I picked up MAKER’S MONEY.

MONEY is a silly book. It’s forgettable at its best and frustrating at its worst. There is nothing to be learned from the book. There is no feeling of connection with characters. If anyone said MONEY is their favorite book, I would feel sorry for them.

And yet MONEY changed my life.

Why did I like this book? Well it’s the first book that I read that used a literal approach to investigate how rich people make and keep their money. I like literal. Key take aways? Spend what you have, buy luxury items, take risks, teach your kids to make their own money (so they aren’t leeches in the future), and buy things that make money. By the end of reading this book I realized that through my own actions I affect my rate of wealth accumulation. The decisions I make, to wait or to print today, directly impact my ability to have money tomorrow.

When I was in my SPM year, I wanted to be a doctor. That same year a teacher assigned MONEY. I was galvanized by it. It opened worlds. My reasoning was simple: You mean that there are things as good as this to be found on the pages of books? And so I was off on a lifelong journey.

After reading the book, it’s entrepreneur all the way for me.

And now I have come to see the great benefits of having a growing and robust faith in money, the kind of faith that grows like a seed. And we know that Mr. Little-Faith is prone to getting clubbed over the head, wounded, and nearly robbed by Mr. Guilt. But we must note, an increase in faith does not tap into more money; MONEY does.

Thanks, MAKER.

You are my life now.

And to answer the question “What’s my favorite literature?,” that list includes:

MONEY
MONEY
MONEY

And my forthcoming trip to Kinkos

And to echo the preface to MONEY: Although this blog does not discourage the use/misuse of the images in this document, it can not be held responsible for misuse/misuse by the document’s printer.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.